4AM IS EXTREMELY EARLY

It’s November, it’s fall in the northern hemisphere, and residents of temperate climates are enjoying an extra hour of blissful slumber as they “fall back” to Daylight Savings.  Unfortunately, they do not fall back in the tropics.  My iPod, however, which serves as my alarm clock since my phone got destroyed by the morning dew on the volcano (yeah), has been doing all sorts of wacky and unpredictable things through space and time.  I’m really not sure what time zone it is trying to take me to.  Bottom line, it’s not the right one.

Today I woke up at 5:15 in order to leave home a little before 6:00 and bike to school with enough time to cool down for my first class at 7:30.  When I got to school, the first thing I noticed was that no one was there.  The second thing I noticed was that the clock on the wall said 6:10.  My iPod said 7:10.  Nice one, Apple.  Thank you for waking me up at 4:15 in the morning.

For lovers of conspiracies, here’s one for you.  (Great TED talk).

The last time I was awake at 4 in the morning, my plane had just landed at the Aden Airport in Yemen and proceeded to have one of the wildest taxi rides of my life with Matt and a qat-chewing cabby in a real hurry to get somewhere.

How many times do you have to be awake at 4AM to be considered a morning person?  That is, after all, at the top of my short list.

1 Comment

Filed under At four in the morning

One response to “4AM IS EXTREMELY EARLY

  1. Guido Storm

    I feel you, man. I wake up at 9 every morning to…actually wait. I don’t empathize at all. 4 in the morning is brutal. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

