From Indiana, to the Indian Ocean

Hello and Bonjour!  I’m setting up this blog to chronicle my experiences as an English Teaching Assistant on Reunion Island for the next 7 months.  I hope its an enjoyable read and that you all might leave me comments or toss me an email while you’re here, so I can stay up to date on your lives as you do with mine.

As I write this, I am packing my bags in Noblesville and quickly realizing that I have no clue what one is meant to  bring when one moves to a remote French island in the Indian Ocean.  Any advice is welcome.  And yet, I’ve lived out of backpacks and  suitcases pretty much since I graduated from Middlebury in May.  I’ve put over 8,000 miles on my family’s cars and 700 miles on my bike.   When it comes to packing up and hitting the road, by now this old dog should know what he’s doing.  But my bags are still pretty much empty, and definitely not due to lack of time.

The next time I post on here, I will likely be in Amman, Jordan, the first stop outside the US on my fairly circuitous itinerary to Reunion.  Let’s hope I have more than a raincoat and a pair of Birkenstocks in my luggage by then.  Or on second thought…?

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “From Indiana, to the Indian Ocean

  1. Sheeeeeeen

    OMG NATHAN.J

  2. tom b

    nafan.

    hai.

    living out of backpacks & luggage is a great feeling. sounds like you’re in for a SWEET trip! (for a while, at least)

  3. tom b

    wait. that came out wrong. the feeling of traveling light is great in moderation. your trip sounds awesome for forever.

  4. Guido Storm

    I like the photo, Tam.

  5. Sheeeeeeen

    wait, someone else commented on tam’s picture. guido storm? blair?

Leave a Reply

